On-Air Now
On-Air Now
Coming Up Next
Coming Up Next
Listen Live

The Country Music Association has announced that Toby Keith, John Anderson and James Burton will be inducted into the Country Music Hall Of Fame this year.

Burton will be inducted in the Recording and/or Touring Musician category, which is awarded every third year in rotation with Songwriter and Non-Performer categories. Anderson will be inducted in the Veterans Era Artist category and Keith will be inducted in the Modern Era Artist category, posthumously.

Keith was diagnosed with stomach cancer in 2021 and died on February 5 at age 62.

“This year’s nominees exemplify the excellence of our genre,” said Sarah Trahern, CMA Chief Executive Officer. “James, John and Toby have each made an indelible impact and brought their distinctive contributions to Country Music, enriching our format.”

“Their influence is evident throughout the longevity of their careers, ensuring each legacy will thrive indefinitely,” she added. “It is with great pride that we welcome these three remarkable individuals into the esteemed ranks of the Country Music Hall of Fame.”

Florida native John Anderson helped steer Country Music back to its traditions with his bold honky-tonk style. James Burton, who hails from Louisiana, blended Country and blues to create a fiery picking style that distinguished countless hits and has inspired guitarists the world over.

Toby Keith from Oklahoma brought a sly swagger and a patriotic passion to songs that made him one of the best-selling Country artists of the past 30 years.

“They have all profoundly shaped our music, and we are honored and delighted that their achievements will now forever be enshrined in the Country Music Hall of Fame,” said Kyle Young, Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum Chief Executive Officer.

A formal induction ceremony for Burton, Anderson and Keith will take place at the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum in the CMA Theater in October. The Museum’s Medallion Ceremony, a reunion of the Hall of Fame membership, is the official rite of induction for new members.

Music News Service distributed by Frankly Media. Copyright(c) 2024 RTTNews.com. All Rights Reserved

WCTK Concerts